RAVEL: Daphnis et Chloé -- CANCELLED | Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra
HomeCalendarRAVEL: Daphnis et Chloé -- CANCELLED

RAVEL: Daphnis et Chloé -- CANCELLED

Joyce Yang, piano

RAVEL: Daphnis et Chloé -- CANCELLED

Julian Kuerti, Conductor, & Joyce Yang, Piano
Friday, May 22, 2020 at 8:00pm
Miller Auditorium

We are sad to announce that we have cancelled our May 22, season finale concert, Ravel: "Daphnis et Chloé." This really was the only choice to ensure the continued safety and well-being of you, our musicians, and our staff at a time when health services are under increased pressure. 

If you would like, your ticket purchase can be turned into a tax-deductible donation that helps to support our musicians, whom we are compensating for the cancelled concerts, and ongoing work during this unprecedented time. Decisions regarding your tickets must be made by Wednesday, May 27. Please contact us to:

  • Donate your tickets to the KSO and receive a tax deduction for the total ticket value.
  • Request an exchange credit for a future performance through our next season without an exchange fee.
  • Receive a refund for the value of the ticket.

Online ticket management: If you have purchased tickets or made donations to the KSO through our website, you may manage your concert tickets here, if you prefer. To do that, click on the "Manage Your Account" button on our Box Office page. After logging in, you will see the screen for managing your concert tickets.

For help with your tickets, please email us at info@kalamazoosymphony.com, or call us between 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. at 269-349-7759. We will respond as quickly as possible. We expect a larger-than-normal call volume and will respond to your messages in the order received. Please do not stop by our office in person; we are working remotely to help keep everyone healthy.


Creating ballet of the imagination.

Ravel's greatest orchestral score comes to life as the KSO tells the story of Daphnis and Chloé, two shepherds who fall in love and face adventures and adversity, abduction by pirates, and finally are reunited by the kind grace of the god Pan. The story is told in music, with supertitles guiding the audience through the fanciful tale. Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 21 opens the concert with music that was featured in the celebrated film, "Elvira Madigan."

See below for program details!

Guest soloist Joyce Yang's appearance is underwritten by the Robert and Marianne Denes Fund.

Subscribe Now

No refunds are available for returned tickets.

ACCESSIBILITY: We strive to make all venues where the KSO offers concerts fully accessible to all. Additionally, sensory friendly accommodations such as headphones, sunglasses, earplugs, and quiet fidget objects are made available for free at all concerts for children and adults. To request an accommodation or for inquiries about accessibility, please contact the KSO office at 269-349-7759.

Featured Artists

Julian Kuerti, conductor
Joyce Yang, piano
Kalamazoo Bach Festival Chorus
Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra


— Wiser Financial Prelude talk | 7 p.m. —

MOZART (1756 – 1791): Piano Concerto No. 21 in C Major, K. 467
                “Elvira Madigan”
                Allegro vivace assai
                                Joyce Yang, piano

— Intermission —

RAVEL (1875 – 1937): Daphnis et Chloé
                Kalamazoo Bach Festival Chorus

— AfterWORDS discussion with conductor and guests | Grand Tier Mezzanine