BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 3, "Eroica" | Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra
HomeCalendarBEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 3, "Eroica"

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 3, "Eroica"

Jun-Ching Lin, violin, and Igor Cetkovic, cello

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 3, "Eroica"

Julian Kuerti, Conductor
Saturday, November 23, 2019 at 9:00pm
Chenery Auditorium

Exploring Beethoven, the blazing revolutionary.

One of Beethoven's most powerful and important symphonies, the "Eroica" is music that breaks all the rules. We also feature Brahms's "Double" Concerto for Violin and Cello, featuring our own concertmaster and principal cellist as soloists with the orchestra.

See below for program details, and take a moment to read our concert notes!

Subscribe Now

No refunds are available for returned tickets. 


ACCESSIBILITY: We strive to make all venues where the KSO offers concerts fully accessible to all. Additionally, sensory friendly accommodations such as headphones, sunglasses, earplugs, and quiet fidget objects are made available for free at all concerts for children and adults. To request an accommodation or for inquiries about accessibility, please contact the KSO office at 269-349-7759.

Featured Artists

Julian Kuerti, conductor
Jun-Ching Lin, violin
Igor Cetkovic, cello
Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra


Our program appears below along with links to YouTube selections to give you a taste of the music ahead!

— Wiser Financial Prelude talk | 7 p.m. —

KNUSSEN (1952 – 2018): Music for a Puppet Court [Listen on YouTube]
                Puzzle I (“Iste tenor ascendit”)
                Toyshop Music (after “Tris”)
                Antiphon (after “Iste tenor ascendit”)
                Intrada and Puzzle II (“Tris”)

BRAHMS (1833-1897): Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor, Op. 102 [Listen on YouTube]
                “Double Concerto”
                      Vivace non troppo
                                Jun-Ching Lin, violin
                                Igor Cetkovic, cello

— Intermission —

BEETHOVEN (1770-1827): Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, Op. 55 “Eroica” [Listen on YouTube]
                Allegro con brio
                Marcia funebre: Adagio assai
                Scherzo: Allegro vivace
                Finale: Allegro molto

— AfterWORDS discussion with conductor and guests —