HomeCalendarRAVEL: Daphnis et Chloé

RAVEL: Daphnis et Chloé

Joyce Yang, piano

RAVEL: Daphnis et Chloé

Julian Kuerti, Conductor, & Joyce Yang, Piano
Friday, May 22, 2020 at 8:00pm
Miller Auditorium

Creating ballet of the imagination.

Ravel's greatest orchestral score comes to life as the KSO tells the story of Daphnis and Chloé, two shepherds who fall in love and face adventures and adversity, abduction by pirates, and finally are reunited by the kind grace of the god Pan. The story is told in music, with supertitles guiding the audience through the fanciful tale. Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 21 opens the concert with music that was featured in the celebrated film, "Elvira Madigan."

See below for program details!

Guest soloist Joyce Yang's appearance is underwritten by the Robert and Marianne Denes Fund.

Subscribe Now

No refunds are available for returned tickets.

ACCESSIBILITY: We strive to make all venues where the KSO offers concerts fully accessible to all. Additionally, sensory friendly accommodations such as headphones, sunglasses, earplugs, and quiet fidget objects are made available for free at all concerts for children and adults. To request an accommodation or for inquiries about accessibility, please contact the KSO office at 269-349-7759.

Featured Artists

Julian Kuerti, conductor
Joyce Yang, piano
Bach Festival Chorus
Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra


— Wiser Financial Prelude talk | 7 p.m. —

MOZART (1756 – 1791): Piano Concerto No. 21 in C Major, K. 467
                “Elvira Madigan”
                Allegro vivace assai
                                Joyce Yang, piano

— Intermission —

RAVEL (1875 – 1937): Daphnis et Chloé
                Bach Festival Chorus

— AfterWORDS discussion with conductor and guests —