▼   Show Menu   ▼

Board of Directors

KSO's Board of Directors is a group of committed community volunteers who establish policy for the institution, actively work to further the mission of the KSO, and ensure that the KSO meets the needs of the community for years to come.


Mr. Doug Phillips, President
Dr. Janice M. Brown, President-Elect
Mr. Steven P. Kreider, Treasurer
Ms. Pamela Enslen, Secretary
Mr. Dave Mange, Member-at-Large


Ms. Callie Baskerville-Jones
Ms. Jill Bland
Ms. Fiona Denny
Ms. Rebecca Eklund
Mr. Bjorn A. Green
Ms. Lori A. Knapp
Ms. Synthia Hardy
Ms. Colleen McBride (KSO League President-Elect)
Mr. James McIntyre
Mr. Dean Miars
Ms. Cynthia Ortega
Ms. Helen B. Osterwald
Ms. Diane S. Robertson
Dr. Barry F. Ross
Mr. Jim Thomas
Ms. Darlene Warren (KSO League President)
Mr. Timothy Williams
Ms. Ruth Wiser

Musician Representatives

Mr. David Peshlakai, Principal Cello
Ms. Nola Matthews Thole, Cello

KSO Founder

Leta G. Snow

Any history of the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra must begin with its founder, Mrs. Leta G. Snow. From its conception until her retirement, Mrs. Snow was the prime force behind the orchestra. In the spring of 1921, she envisioned a Twin Cities Orchestra for Kalamazoo and Battle Creek and presented her idea to fifteen other musicians at a meeting in her home.

The group organized the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra. Its first concert was on December 19, 1921, at the Masonic Temple under conductor Chester Z. Bronson.

Leta Snow was inducted into the Michigan Women's Hall of Fame in 2008. (more info)

Kalamazoo Symphony
~ Harmony in Community

©2015 Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra |
359 S Kalamazoo Mall, Ste 100, Kalamazoo, MI 49007 |
Phone: 269.349.7759
Privacy Policy | Sitemap